• World English Language: Sapere Books
  • Published: 26th June 2018

Dark Quartet: The story of the Brontë family

Lynne Reid Banks

The thrilling story of the Brontë family is brought to life! Perfect for fans of Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Literary Biographies and Literary Fiction.

Three infamous sisters; one troubled brother – four lives blighted by tragedy. 

Isolated in a ramshackle parsonage on the Yorkshire moors, the Brontë children created their own fantasy worlds.

Charlotte, Emily, Anne and their brother Branwell spent their childhoods absorbed in creating miniature manuscripts that preserved the stories of their imaginative dreamworlds.

But though Branwell craved recognition for his literary attempts, he would be pushed aside while the careers of his sisters flourished.

This family’s extraordinary literary talents were overshadowed by extreme personal suffering.

How did three provincial sisters become household names? What personal sacrifices led to professional success?

And what led to the ultimately tragic fate for this Dark Quartet…?

Dark Quartet is a thrilling fictionalised biography of the Brontë sisters: beautifully written literary fiction set in nineteenth century Yorkshire revealing the real tragedies of the authors of the best-loved novels Wuthering HeightsJane Eyre and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall.

“Lynne Reid Banks communicates her story with clarity and conviction that establish her among the noblest of factual fiction writers”
“A novel which will open many eyes afresh to the lives of the remarkable and gifted Brontës”
Yorkshire Post
“Lynne Reid Banks has written an exciting and absorbing book and has offered us her answers to some of the mysteries of the lives of the Brontës”
Irish Times