Megan Carroll

Literary Agent

Megan graduated from Goldsmiths with a BA in English and American Literature in 2013 and worked as an intern at Watson, Little and Caroline Sheldon Literary Agency before returning to the agency as the assistant in July 2014. She is now a Literary Agent and is building her own list.

Megan is looking for writers in a variety of areas and from a variety of backgrounds. In Fiction, Megan is keen to see high-concept speculative fiction (particularly high-concept love stories) for both commercial and reading group/crossover readers. She is also looking for historical fiction and gothic horror in the vein of Bridget Collins, Stacey Halls and Laura Purcell, as well as regional family drama, contemporary women’s fiction, and darkly comic novels (think My Sister the Serial Killer).

In Children’s and YA, Megan would love to see contemporary YA tackling realistic issues and big, epic love stories as well as funny, female focused MG – think Louise Rennison and Karen McCombie – and an Abi Elphinstone style adventure for that age group too. Megan loves anything creepy and spooky for the MG audience too, and would love to find horror for YA readers.

Non-Fiction is another area of interest and Megan is keen to see interesting memoir and good narrative non-fiction on film, music, true crime, popular culture and issues from a female perspective. Megan is also growing a list of children’s non-fiction authors and would love to see proposals for ages 7+.

She is also keen on hearing from Black, Asian and LGBTQ+ writers (this applies to all genres).

Books I’ve loved reading recently include Detransition, Baby by Torrey Peters, I’ll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara, The Flat Share by Beth O’Leary, Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo, Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge, Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams, The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta, The Five by Hallie Rubenhold, The Familiars by Stacey Halls, and The Mothers by Brit Bennett.